La Charly Gaul

The 12th edition of the Gran Fondo CHARLY GAUL
takes place from July 7 to 9, 2017.

The official homepage of the Gran Fondo Charly Gaul:
http://www.laleggendariacharlygaul.it

laleggendariacharlygaul.it/

www.apt.trento.it

Tourist office Trento

La Leggendaria Charly Gaul Trento-Monte-Bondone

Around 40 riders from Luxemburg travelled with their supporters to Italy and participated on June 10, 2006, in the first edition of the cyclo-sport race Granfondo Charly Gaul in the region of Trento. The finish of the race was placed on top of the Monte Bondone summit, a climb that became famous in the whole world after an epic Giro d'Italia stage in 1956, 50 year before, won in dramatic weather conditions by our very own Charly Gaul. The event is now known as Leggendaria Charly Gaul Trento/Monte-Bondone and it has grown in a spectacular way: the 12th edition is from 7th to 9th of July 2017 with up to 4.000 expected contenders and a program over the whole week-end.

Cyclosport-race «Granfondo Charly Gaul» on the slopes of the Monte Bondone !

On Monday, February 13, 2006, the first edition of the "Gran Fondo Charly Gaul" was presented in Luxemburg by the Tourist office of Trento, in collaboration with the ACC Contern and the Foundation "Friends of Charly Gaul". Klick here to know more about this evening in Cessange. Since then, the event has grown and from a hundred participants in the opening edition, in 2006, the number of contenders has extended to more than 1000 after the third edition already, in 2008.

The 12th edition of the race takes place from 7th to 9th of July, 2017.

It isn't very easy to explain the Gran Fondo Charly Gaul in only a few lines. The event usually takes place in the middle of the summer, end of July or beginning of August, and is centered around the region of Trento and the Monte Bondone, as a tribute to the legendary performance of Charly Gaul in the epic stage of the Giro 1956 between Merano and the Monte Bondone. Cycling fans who want to spend a few entertaining hours in the middle of the nature shouldn't miss the occasion to pass a week-end or even more in this splendid region


Gilberto Simoni au départ du Gran Fondo 2006
Gilberto Simoni at the start Gran Fondo 2006

that seems especially designed for them with Gilberto Simoni and his Elite Bike School (www.bikeschooltrentino.net) being the most famous ambassador for the Monte Bondone.

The Gran Fondo Charly Gaul is an idea that came up in 2006 to celebrate the 50th anniversary of the legendary performance of Charly Gaul, when the Luxemburg climber arrived alone on top of the Monte Bondone 8 minutes ahead of the next chasers after a cold and wet day with rain and snow. The "Angel of the Mountain" could hardly get off his bike after the stage because of the cold, but he was on the way to take his first overall victory in the Giro d'Italia. The first edition of the Gran Fondo was thus held in 2006 and the event has become a lot bigger since then, with two courses available containing of course, the ascent of the road up to the Monte Bondone.

Naturally, the two courses are designed for experienced riders, they are technical and difficult, visiting the most picturesque places in the region of Trento

Huge climbs
Huge climbs

from the Piazza del Duomo in Trento to the numerous turns of the "Salita Charly Gaul" on the Monte Bondone, via the lakes and castles of the Valle dei Laghi or the famous village of Gamiga Terme.

The longest course of around 150 kilometers has a change of altitude of about 4.000 metres and tackles minimum two bigger climbs with, of course, the Monte Bondone, the famous climb that was part of the Giro d'Italia in 1956 and 2006. The other course of about 60 kilometres also includes up to 2000 metres of climbing, with the biggest part of it being on the final ascent up to Vason and the Monte Bondone. There is also a time-trial of around 25 kilometres in 2016 again.


Beautiful landscapes
Beautiful landscapes

The Gran Fondo Charly Gaul is part of the UCI World Cycling Tour of the Alpe Adria Tour and the Challenge Giordana. It is open to membres of the Udace, the FCI and all other sports federations who can present a valid medical certification for sport. The event takes place in the middle of the summer and Trento and its region are ideal destinations to escape the heat. There are a lot of interesting touristic offers (www.apt.trento.it) to be found here. Some specific attractions are organized in relation with the Gran Fondo, for the riders and their supporters. The « Week-end leggendario » gives you the possibility to take part in some of those.

For more detailed information, please have a look at the internet sites www.laleggendariacharlygaul.it and www.apt.trento.it
Photos: Office du Tourisme de Trento

Charly Gaul in 1956 on the Monte Bondone

Salita Charly Gaul




ARCHIVES

2017

FLYER

2016

RESULTS:
141 km
57 km
time-trial

PRESS RELEASE
REGULATIONS

2015

RESULTS
FLYER
PRESS RELEASE
REGULATIONS

2014

RESULTS

COURSE
FLYER (Italian)
PRESS RELEASE 1
PRESS RELEASE 1



2013

RESULTS:
longer course (112 km)
shorter course (60 km)
time-trial (24 km)

COURSE
PRESS RELEASE

2012

RESULTS:
long distance men
long distance women
medium distance men
medium distance women
short distance men
short distance women
INFOS as .PDF
COURSE

2011

RESULTS:
long course
medium course
short course
INFO AS .PDF
COURSE

2010

RESULTS:
long course (.pdf)
medium course (.pdf)
General info (.pdf)
practical info (.pdf)
official presentation

2009

RESULTS:
www.winningtime.it
General info (.pdf)
practical info (.pdf)
Registration form (.pdf)

2008

RESULTS:
long distance (women)
long distance (men)
short distance(women)
short distance (men)
folder nr 01
folder nr 02

2007

RESULTS:
complete
info, rules, registration
Bondone day 2007
Trento and the Monte Bondone

2006

RESULTS:
complete
Course
Maps
Presentation in Cessange


PICTURES OF 2008:

Gran Fondo Internationale Charly Gaul 2008 - Photo: APT Trento Gran Fondo Internationale Charly Gaul 2008 - Photo: Dam Photos Gilberto Simoni with Antonio Corradini (winner over 125 km) - Photo: Dam Photos Eugène Stirn of the ACC Contern with Gilberto Simoni and some members of the organization - Photo: APT Trento Eugène Stirn hands out a winner trophy to former Olympic champion Paola Pezzo - Photo: APT Trento Gilberto Simoni with the winners of the Gran Fondo Internationale Charly Gaul 2008 - Photo: APT Trento

More picture galleries:

THE GIRO AT THE MONTE BONDONE
GRAN FONDO CHARLY GAUL 2006

In Deutscher Sprache DEUTSCH
en Français FRANCAIS

www.rivella.lu

www.echternach.lu

www.inspiringluxembourg.public.lu

www.ost.lu

www.trifolion.lu

www.vew.lu

www.chronorace.be

www.cactus.lu

www.schumacher.lu

www.echternach-tourist.lu/

Organisation:
ACC CONTERN

www.acccontern.lu

Note: "This site contains links to other pages, on which content and presentation we don't have any influence. These refences are indicated merely for your information and and we can't be made reliable for any of the content of any of the places our links may take you to."
Contact: ACC Contern - c/o Alain Conter - 47, Op der Hobuch - L-5832 FENTANGE - acccontern@gmail.com

La Charly Gaul

La 12ème édition du
Gran Fondo CHARLY GAUL
a lieu du 7 au 9 juillet 2017.

Les sites officiels du Gran Fondo Charly Gaul:
http://www.laleggendariacharlygaul.it

laleggendariacharlygaul.it/

www.apt.trento.it

Office du Tourisme de Trento

La Leggendaria Charly Gaul Trento-Monte-Bondone

Une quarantaine de coureurs luxembourgeois, accompagnés de nombreux supporters, ont participé le 10 juin 2006 à la première édition de la cyclosportive Granfondo Charly Gaul dans la région de Trento en Italie. L'arrivée de l'épreuve était situé au sommet du Monte Bondone, col rendu célèbre à travers le monde par la fantastique chevauchée réalisée il y a plus de 50 ans dans le Giro de 1956, par notre grand champion défunt Charly Gaul dans des conditions météorologiques dantesques! Depuis, l'évènement a bien grandi et on en est déjà à la douzième édition de la Gran Fondo Internazionale Charly Gaul, rebaptisée La Leggendaria Charly Gaul Trento/Monte-Bondone. Elle a lieu du 7 au 9 juillet 2017 avec près de 4.000 participants attendus et un programme d'encadrement alléchant.

«Granfondo Charly Gaul» sur les pentes du Monte Bondone !

Le lundi, 13 février 2006, la première édition de la cyclosportive "Gran Fondo Charly Gaul" fût présenté au public luxembourgeois à l'initiative de l'Office du Tourisme de la région de Trento, en collaboration avec l'ACC Contern et la Fondation des Amis de Charly Gaul. Cliquez ici pour en savoir plus sur cette soirée, qui s'est déroulée à Cessange en présence de Gilberto Simoni. Depuis, l'idée a fait son chemin et, d'une petite centaine de participations pour la première édition en 2006, le peloton s'était déjà aggrandi à un bon milier pour la troisième édition, en 2008.

La douzième édition de cette cyclosportive a eu lieu du 7 au 9 juillet 2017.

C’est bien difficile de résumer en quelques lignes la Gran Fondo Charly Gaul. Fin juillet - début août, cette course est centrée sur Trente et le Mont Bondone, en souvenir de l’exploit mémorable de Charly Gaul durant l’étape mythique Merano-Mont Bondone de 1956. Les passionnés de vélo désirant vivre des heures agréables au milieu de la nature ne doivent pas perdre l’occasion de passer un week-end, ou même quelques jours, dans un lieu splendide qui semble fait spécialement pour eux, d’autant plus que Gilberto Simoni de l’Elite Bike School (www.bikeschooltrentino.net) est le parrain de l'épreuve.


Gilberto Simoni au départ du Gran Fondo 2006
Gilberto Simoni au départ du Gran Fondo 2006

La Gran Fondo Charly Gaul est une idée qui a mûri au fil des années pour fêter – en 2006 - le 50e anniversaire de l’exploit sportif inoubliable de « l’ange de la montagne », quand le grimpeur luxembourgeois arriva seul en haut du mont Bandone avec 8’ d’avance sur ses adversaires au cours d’une journée froide et pluvieuse, neigeuse même, en remportant ainsi le Tour d’Italie. La première édition, celle que l’on peut appeler « édition zéro » pour roder l’équipe, s’est tenue en 2006. La manifestation est devenue de plus en plus grande et intéressante, avec deux parcours proposés et naturellement l'ascension de Trente - Mont Bondone.

Montées vertigineuse
Montée vertigineuse

Inutile de cacher que ce sont deux tracés pour cyclistes amateurs chevronnés, difficiles et techniques, qui passent par les coins les plus pittoresques de la région de Trentino: de la Piazza del Duomo in Trento jusqu'aux virages innombrables de la "Salita Charly Gaul" au Monte Bondone, en passant par les lacs et châteaux de la Valle dei Laghi ou encore les célèbres bains aux herbes de Gamiga Terme.

Le tracé le plus long de 150 kilomètres environ propose une dénivellation de près de 4.000 mètres, avec comme pièce principale, l'ascension du Monte Bondone, la fameuse montée des Tours d'Italie 1956 et 2006. Le parcours moins long d'une soixantaine de kilomètres propose tout de même également près de 2000 mètres de dénivellation, dont l'essentiel se trouve dans la montée finale vers Vason et le Monte Bondone. Un contre-la-montre est également proposé par les organisateurs.


Paysages magnifiques
Paysages magnifiques

La Gran Fondo Charly Gaul fait partie de l'UCI World Cycling Tour, de l'Alpe Adria Tour et du Challenge Giordana. Elle est ouverte aux membres de l’Udace, de la FCI et de tous les Organismes de promotion sportive ou affiliés à d’autres fédérations sportives, ayant le certificat d’aptitude à la pratique sportive. N’oublions pas que cet événement a lieu au mois de juillet et le Trentin, avec Trente et le mont Bondone au premier plan, sont indéniablement les destinations idéales pour fuir la canicule de la plaine. C’est ce qui explique le grand nombre d’offres touristiques intéressantes (www.apt.trento.it). Des activités spécifiques ont par ailleurs été planifiées pour les accompagnateurs de la Gran Fondo. Le « week-end legendario » permet de profiter de quelques-unes d'entre-elles.

Pour des informations plus détaillées, consulter les sites www.laleggendariacharlygaul.it et www.apt.trento.it
Photos: Office du Tourisme de Trento

Charly Gaul en 1956 sur le Monte Bondone

Salita Charly Gaul




ARCHIVES

2017

DEPLIANT

2016

CLASSEMENTS:
141 km
57 km
contre-la-montre

COMMUNIQUE DE PRESSE
REGLEMENT

2015

CLASSEMENTS
DEPLIANT
COMMUNIQUE DE PRESSE
REGLEMENT

2014

CLASSEMENTS

PARCOURS
DEPLIANT
COMMUNIQUE DE PRESSE
REGLEMENT

2013

CLASSEMENTS:
parcours long (112 km)
parcours moyen (60 km)
contre-la-montre (24 km)

PARCOURS
COMMUNIQUE DE PRESSE
(en anglais)

2012

CLASSEMENTS:
parcours long hommes
parcours long dames
parcours moyen hommes
parcours moyen dames
parcours court hommes
parcours court dames
INFOS EN .PDF
PARCOURS

2011

CLASSEMENTS:
PARCOURS LONG
PARCOURS MOYEN
PARCOURS COURT
INFOS EN .PDF
PARCOURS

2010

CLASSEMENTS:
parcours long (.pdf)
parcours moyen (.pdf)
Informations générales (.pdf)
Informations pratiques (.pdf)
Présentation officielle

2009

CLASSEMENTS:
www.winningtime.it
Informations générales (.pdf)
Informations pratiques (.pdf)
Bulletin d'inscriptions (.pdf)

2008

CLASSEMENTS:
parcours long (dames)
parcours long (hommes)
parcours court (dames)
parcours court (hommes)
dépliant no 01
dépliant no 02

2007

CLASSEMENTS:
COMPLETS
Infos, réglements, inscriptions
Bondone day 2007
Trento et le Monte Bondone

2006

CLASSEMENTS:
COMPLETS
Parcours
Cartes
Lancement à Cessange


PHOTOS DE 2008:

Gran Fondo Internationale Charly Gaul 2008 - Photo: APT Trento Gran Fondo Internationale Charly Gaul 2008 - Photo: Dam Photos Gilberto Simoni avec Antonio Corradini (vainqueur sur 125 km) - Photo: Dam Photos Eugène Stirn, secrétaire de l'ACC Contern, entouré de Gilberto Simoni et de membres de l'organisation - Photo: APT Trento Eugène Stirn remet le throphée de vainqueur à l'ancienne championne olympique Paola Pezzo - Photo: APT Trento Gilberto Simoni avec les lauréats du Gran Fondo Internationale Charly Gaul 2008 - Photo: APT Trento

Autres albums photos:

LE GIRO AU MONTE BONDONE
GRAN FONDO CHARLY GAUL 2006

In Deutscher Sprache DEUTSCH
in English ENGLISH

www.rivella.lu

www.echternach.lu

www.ost.lu

www.trifolion.lu

www.vew.lu

www.chronorace.be

www.cactus.lu

www.schumacher.lu

www.echternach-tourist.lu/

Organisation:
ACC CONTERN

www.acccontern.lu

Note: "Ce site contient des liens vers d'autre pages internet. Nous n'avons pas d'emprise sur le contenu et la présentation sur ces sites et nous nous distançons donc explicitement du contenu des endroits auxquels tous les liens présents sur notre site peuvent donner accès."
Contact: ACC Contern - c/o M. Alain Conter - 47, Op der Hobuch - L-5832 Fentange - acccontern@gmail.com