ACCEUIL
The 14th GRAN FONDO CHARLY GAUL takes place July 12 to 14, 2019 in Trento
In Deutscher Sprache
in English
ARCHIVES LA CHARLY GAUL: 2019 | 2018 | 2017 | 2016 | 2015 | 2014 | 2013 | 2012 | 2011 | 2010 | 2009

LA LEGGENDARIA CHARLY GAUL on the slopes of the Monte Bondone

On Monday, February 13, 2006, the first edition of the "Gran Fondo Charly Gaul" was presented in Luxemburg by the Tourist office of Trento, in collaboration with the ACC Contern and the Foundation "Friends of Charly Gaul". Klick here to know more about this evening in Cessange. Since then, the event has grown and from a hundred participants in the opening edition, in 2006, the number of contenders has extended to more than 1000 after the third edition already, in 2008.

La treizième édition de cette cyclosportive a eu lieu du 12 au 14 juillet 2018.


La Leggendaria Charly Gaul Trento-Monte-Bondone

Around 40 riders from Luxemburg travelled with their supporters to Italy and participated on June 10, 2006, in the first edition of the cyclo-sport race Granfondo Charly Gaul in the region of Trento. The finish of the race was placed on top of the Monte Bondone summit, a climb that became famous in the whole world after an epic Giro d'Italia stage in 1956, 50 year before, won in dramatic weather conditions by our very own Charly Gaul. The event is now known as Leggendaria Charly Gaul Trento/Monte-Bondone and it has grown in a spectacular way: the 14th edition takes place from 12th to 14th of July 2019 with up to 4.000 expected contenders and a program over the whole week-end.

Salita Charly Gaul

It isn't very easy to explain the Gran Fondo Charly Gaul in only a few lines. The event usually takes place in the middle of the summer, end of July or beginning of August, and is centered around the region of Trento and the Monte Bondone, as a tribute to the legendary performance of Charly Gaul in the epic stage of the Giro 1956 between Merano and the Monte Bondone. Cycling fans who want to spend a few entertaining hours in the middle of the nature shouldn't miss the occasion to pass a week-end or even more in this splendid region that seems especially designed for them with Gilberto Simoni and his Elite Bike School (www.bikeschooltrentino.net) being the most famous ambassador for the Monte Bondone.

Gilberto Simoni at the start of the Gran Fondo 2006
Gilberto Simoni at the start of the Gran Fondo 2006

The Gran Fondo Charly Gaul is an idea that came up in 2006 to celebrate the 50th anniversary of the legendary performance of Charly Gaul, when the Luxemburg climber arrived alone on top of the Monte Bondone 8 minutes ahead of the next chasers after a cold and wet day with rain and snow. The "Angel of the Mountain" could hardly get off his bike after the stage because of the cold, but he was on the way to take his first overall victory in the Giro d'Italia. The first edition of the Gran Fondo was thus held in 2006 and the event has become a lot bigger since then, with two courses available containing of course, the ascent of the road up to the Monte Bondone.

Steep slopes
Steep slopes

Naturally, the two courses are designed for experienced riders, they are technical and difficult, visiting the most picturesque places in the region of Trento, from the Piazza del Duomo in Trento to the numerous turns of the "Salita Charly Gaul" on the Monte Bondone, via the lakes and castles of the Valle dei Laghi or the famous village of Gamiga Terme.

The longest course of around 141 kilometers has a change of altitude of about 4.000 metres and tackles minimum two bigger climbs with, of course, the Monte Bondone, the famous climb that was part of the Giro d'Italia in 1956 and 2006. The other course of about 60 kilometres also includes up to 2000 metres of climbing, with the biggest part of it being on the final ascent up to Vason and the Monte Bondone. There is also a time-trial of around 26 kilometres in 2019 again.

Beautiful landscapes
Beautiful landscapes

The Gran Fondo Charly Gaul is part of the UCI Gran Fondo World Series, of the Alpe Adria Tour as well as of the two Challenges Ale et In Bici Top. It is open to membres of the Udace, the FCI and all other sports federations who can present a valid medical certification for sport. The event takes place in the middle of the summer and Trento and its region are ideal destinations to escape the heat. There are a lot of interesting touristic offers (www.apt.trento.it) to be found here. Some specific attractions are organized in relation with the Gran Fondo, for the riders and their supporters.

For more detailed information, please have a look at the internet sites www.laleggendariacharlygaul.it et www.apt.trento.it
Photos: Trento Tourist Office

Charly Gaul in 1956 n the Monte Bondone

INFORMATIONS FOR 2019

ARCHIVES

QUELQUES PHOTOS (2008)


Gran Fondo Internationale Charly Gaul 2008 - Photo: APT Trento Gran Fondo Internationale Charly Gaul 2008 - Photo: Dam Photos Gilberto Simoni with Antonio Corradini (winner over 125 km) - Photo: Dam Photos Eugène Stirn of the ACC Contern with Gilberto Simoni and some members of the organization - Photo: APT Trento Eugène Stirn hands out a winner trophy to former Olympic champion Paola Pezzo - Photo: APT Trento Gilberto Simoni with the winners of the Gran Fondo Internationale Charly Gaul 2008 - Photo: APT Trento



www.arnoldkontz-cycles.com

www.echternach.lu

www.inspiringluxembourg.public.lu

www.ost.lu

www.rivella.lu

www.trifolion.lu

www.vew.lu

www.chronorace.be

www.cactus.lu

www.rosport.com

www.visitechternach.lu

Organisation: ACC CONTERN

www.acccontern.lu

Note: "This site contains links to other pages, on which content and presentation we don't have any influence. These refences are indicated merely for your information and and we can't be made reliable for any of the content of any of the places our links may take you to."
Contact: ACC Contern - c/o Alain Conter - 47, Op der Hobuch - L-5832 FENTANGE - acccontern@gmail.com

ACCEUIL
Die 15. GRAN FONDO CHARLY GAUL ist vom 10. bis 12. Juli 2020 in Trento
en Français
in English
ARCHIVE LA CHARLY GAUL: 2020 | 2019 | 2018 | 2017 | 2016 | 2015 | 2014 | 2013 | 2012 | 2011 | 2010 | 2009 | 2008 | 2007 | 2006 | 2005 | 2004 | 2003 | 2002

LA LEGGENDARIA CHARLY GAUL auf den Hängen des Monte Bondone

Am Montag, 13. Februar 2006 wurde die erste Ausgabe des Jedermannrennens "Gran Fondo Charly Gaul" dem Luxemburgischen Publikum vorgestellt, auf Initiative des Touristikamtes der Region Trento, des ACC Contern und der Stiftung Charly Gaul. Hier können Sie mehr lesen über diesen Abend, der in Präsenz von Gilberto Simoni in Zessingen über die Bühne ging. Seither ist die Idee gereift, die Organisation wurde perfektionniert und von knapp hundert Konkurrenten bei der ersten Ausgabe war das Teilnehmerfeld im Jahr 2008 schon auf über Tausend gewachsen.

Die 15. Ausgabe des Jedermannrennens findet statt vom 10. bis 12. Juli 2020.


La Leggendaria Charly Gaul Trento-Monte-Bondone

Rund 40 luxemburgische Radfahrer, begleitet von ihren Anhängern, haben am 10. Juni 2006 an der ersten Ausgabe des Jedermannrennens Granfondo Charly Gaul in der Region von Trento in Italien teilgenommen. Die Ankunft des Rennens fand oben auf dem Monte Bondone statt, dem Anstieg, den die Welt vor 50 Jahren entdeckte, als der inzwischen verstorbene Luxemburger Charly Gaul während des Giro 1956 eine legendäre Etappe unter unmenschlichen Witterungsbedinungen gewann. Inzwischen ist die Veranstaltung viel gewachsen und die 15. Ausgabe der Gran Fondo Internazionale, jetzt Leggendaria Charly Gaul Trento/Monte-Bondone genannt, findet vom 10. bis 12. Juli 2020 statt, mit bis zu 4.000 Teilnehmern und einem umfangreichen Rahmenprogramm.

Salita Charly Gaul

Es ist nicht einfach, die Gran Fondo Charly Gaul in nur wenigen Linien zu beschreiben. Das Rennen ist traditionnel am letzten Wochenende im Juli und findet rund um Trento und den Monte Bondone statt, als Erinnerung an die Leistung von Charly Gaul während der legendären Etappe Merano – Monte Bondone des Giro d’Italia 1956. Radsportanhänger, die einige angenehme Stunden inmitten der Natur erleben möchten, dürfen es nicht versäumen, ein Wochenende oder auch einige Tage mehr an einem Platz zu bleiben, der für sie wie geschaffen scheint, umso mehr auch Gilberto Simoni von der Elite Bike School (www.bikeschooltrentino.net) Pate des Rennens ist.

Gilberto Simoni am Start der Gran Fondo 2006
Gilberto Simoni am Start der Gran Fondo 2006

Die Gran Fondo Charly Gaul ist eine Idee, die im Laufe der Jahre gereift ist, ursprünglich feierte sie im Jahr 2006 den 50. Geburtstag des Sieges des „Engel der Berge“ bei einer Etappe der Italien-rundfahrt, als der luxemburgische Bergfahrer Alleine oben am Monte Bondone ankam, mit 8 Minuten Vorsprung auf die nächsten Verfolger. Inmitten eines Schneesturms legte er so den Grundstein für seinen späteren Gesamtsieg beim Giro d’Italia. Die erste Ausgabe fand 2006 statt, doch die Veranstaltung wude im Laufe der Jahre immer interessanter und weist auch dieses Jahr zwei verschiedenen Strecken auf, welche natürlich den Anstieg von Trento nach dem Monte Bondone beinhalten.

Steile Strassen
Steile Strassen

Die zwei Varianten sind natürlich für erfahrene Radsportler gedacht, wenn auch die kleinere Strecke etwas weniger schwer ist und von dem meisten Teilnehmer zu meistern sein sollten. Die Strecken sind technisch anspruchsvoll und führen durch die schönsten Ecken im Trentino, von der Piazza del Duomo in Trento über die Seen und Schlösser der Valle dei Laghi oder die Kräuterbäder von Gamiga Terme bis hin zu den unzähligen Kurven der "Salita Charly Gaul" am Monte Bondone.

Die längere Variante führt über rund 141 Kilometer mit ungefähr 4.000 Metern Höhenunterschied und beinhaltet zwei bis drei Steigungen, mit natürlich am Schluss dem Monte Bondone, dem famosen Anstieg aus den beiden Ausgaben des Giro d'Italia 1956 und 2006. Die weniger lange Strecke ist rund 60 Kilometer lang und beinhalten immer noch ungefähr 2000 Meter Höhenunterschied, die Meisten davon am letzten Anstieg nach Vason und dem Monte Bondone. Ausserdem gibt est 2019 auch wieder ein Einzelzeitfahren über circa 24 Kilometer.

Überwältigende Landschaften
Überwältigende Landschaften

Die Gran Fondo Charly Gaul gehört zur UCI Gran Fondo World Series, zur Alpe Adria Tour sowie den beiden Serien Challenge Ale und Challenge In Bici Top.Teilnahmeberechtigt sind Mitglieder der Udace, der FCI, sowie aller anderer Sportverbände, falls sie über die nötige ärztliche Genehmigung zur Ausübung von Sport verfügen. Vergessen wir nicht, dass die Veranstaltung mitten im Sommer stattfindet und Trentino, mit Trento und dem Monte Bondone sind ideale Ausflugsplätze, um der Hitze im Flachland zu entgehen. Deshalb gibt es natürlich auch eine ganze Reihe Touristikangebote in der Gegend. (www.apt.trento.it). Einige Spezifische Aktivitäten sind ebenfalls für die Begleiter eingeplant.

Weitere Informationen finden Sie auf www.laleggendariacharlygaul.it und www.apt.trento.it
Bilder: Touristikamt Trento

Charly Gaul im Jahr 1956 auf dem Monte Bondone

INFORMATIONEN 2019

ARCHIVE

EINIGE BILDER (2008)


Gran Fondo Internationale Charly Gaul 2008 - Photo: APT Trento Gran Fondo Internationale Charly Gaul 2008 - Photo: Dam Photos Gilberto Simoni mit Antonio Corradini (Sieger über 125 km) - Photo: Dam Photos Eugène Stirn vom ACC Contern zusammen mit Gilberto Simoni und den Vertretern der Organisation - Bild: APT Trento Eugène Stirn übergibt den Siegerpokal an die ehemalige Olympiasiegerin Paola Pezzo - Bild: APT Trento Gilberto Simoni mit den Siegern der Gran Fondo Internationale Charly Gaul 2008 - Bild: APT Trento





www.arnoldkontz-cycles.com

www.echternach.lu

www.inspiringluxembourg.public.lu

www.ost.lu

www.rivella.lu

www.trifolion.lu

www.vew.lu

www.chronorace.be

www.cactus.lu

www.rosport.com

www.visitechternach.lu

Organisation: ACC CONTERN

www.acccontern.lu

Bemerkung: "Diese Webseite enthält Links zu anderen Seiten, auf deren Inhalt und Präsentation wir keinen Einfluss haben. Diese Links sind also nur zu Ihrer Information vorhanden und wir distanzieren uns ausdrücklich vom Inhalt aller Webseiten, zu denen unsere Links Sie führen können."
Kontakt: ACC Contern - c/o M. Alain Conter - 47, Op der Hobuch - L-5832 Fentange - acccontern@gmail.com